single site with multiple language version

Hi,

I have a single website in sitecore. I have added new language and content of that language. Now my single content have two versions(en, ar-QA). This website is developed using sitecore SXA. Now I have a dropdown in website to select language. When I select specific language from dropdown, it should show the content in selected language. Please suggest, how can I achieve this.

Thanks,

Ravi Sharma

• Hello Ravi,

Do you use the language switcher of SXA or have you made a custom component for this.
    The default language selector of SXA will list all the languages that are available for that page and will be shown in the dropdown. When changing to the other language it will change the page to this language.

Kind regards,
    Danny Paul van Iersel
  • In reply to Danny Paul van Iersel:

I am new in multilingual site and new in SXA as well. Can you suggest which one will be the best option and how we can implement? As this site is in SXA, so I would like to implement it using SXA. Can you suggest any blog or steps which explains how we can achieve this?

Regards,
    Ravi Sharma
  • In reply to Ravi Sharma:

Hello Ravi,

My experience with SXA is with Sitecore version 9.0.X and SXA version 1.7.
    I'm not sure what version you are using.

Currently I have found the following very useful to get my project done with SXA. Some of my project use no code at all only the defaults of SXA.
    (a lot is possible)

An overview of all the different components/renderings can be found at:
    doc.sitecore.com/.../the-sxa-renderings-and-rendering-variants.html

For more details on how to configure it an use it you can see:
    doc.sitecore.com/.../working-with-content.html

The language selector is not included but is very basic. You can find it when you add a component under the "Context" tab. You can then use some Css styling to get it to look as you want.