• Not Answered

deleted component still appearing on site

Hello Sitecore 8 community

I'm fairly new to Sitecore in a content manager role, so I'm hoping I'm asking this question the correct way.

We had a component for Annual Meeting registration and since the meeting finished up last week, the junior webmaster deleted the component yesterday. However, the content of the component is still appearing on the site in 130 places. Republishing pages that previously had the component did not remove the component content from the page on prod.

- How can I get the deleted component from appearing?

- What's the best practice for next time we need to remove a component that appears in many places on the site?

Thanks for you assistance.

- William

5 Replies

• William,
    You are referring to a rendering that has been places on multiple templates on your site?

Also, when you said "deleted component", do you mean actual rendering was deleted without removing it from presentation details on the pages?

Thanks.
  • In reply to Alex Kronberg:

Hey!
    If it is appearing at so many places, best approach would be to ask help from your Development team to remove that component from template instead of doing a change across all content that refers to it.
    Once it is taken down from templates, it will disappear from content as well.
    I would recommend you/content authors to clean up any datasources that specifically set up for this component in your content tree, to keep things clean