• Not Answered

Rebuilding the Reporting database

I am rebuilding my reporting database based on the steps outlined in the xDB Upgrade and Conversion Guide.  This is my first time to perform this action and it has been running for almost 3 hours.  This is not a production site, it's only a dev site, so there shouldn't be that much data...

How long does this rebuild process normally take?

Thanks!

Jason

7 Replies

• I don't remember exactly time - but rebuild process takes long time
  • Hi Jason,

Can I ask you a few questions to better understand the issue?

- How much records do you have in XDB?
    - Do you see any errors in the logs?
    - What does the rebuildreportingdb.aspx page tell you? I shows the name of the current step that's running. Does it show "History processing"?
    - Have you tried increasing threads in aggregation configs?

-alex
  • In reply to Alex Shyba:

- looks like I only have 1265 records in the associated sitecoreInstance_analytics database.
    - The only error that appeared in my log file after I kicked off the process was (not sure if this is even related):
    ManagedPoolThread #19 2015:06:16 17:09:59 ERROR Cannot parse the time interval specified in the 'IntervalTokeep' option to the desired format 'hh:mm:ss' for the CleanupEventQueue agent. The value specified in the DaysToKeep option will be used instead – the specified value is '1' days. The specified value in the IntervalToKeep option is ''.
    - The rebuildreportingdb.aspx page stayed on HistoryProcessing for 18 hours before I just cancelled the job.
    - Which of the *.Aggregation*.config files should I modify to increase the number of threads?

Thanks!
    Jason
  • In reply to Jason Wilkerson:

Hi Jason,

With that much data, I doubt you are lacking threads :-) I should finish relatively quickly. I bet the problem is somewhere else, something chokes up.