Confused about content editor

hi everyone, I am a computer science student intern at a software company, and will in the near future be working with sitecore, so im spending some time trying to learn all about it, which is why I have some pretty nubeish questions for you. My first question is regarding something as simple as the content editor, it is really easy for me to find a hundred videos and articles explaining small things about it, but what I cant wrap my head around is: What is it actually, and how does it work?

Should i Just think of it as a filestructure with a lot of components that the end user can drag'n drop to design his/hers webpage?or is it more like a scaffolding of the website with some of the views as parts?

So... could someone give me a highlevel explanation of what the content editor is, without using a lot of sitecore terminology?

• When you login into Sitecore you see standard the launchpad doc.sitecore.com/.../log-in-to-the-sitecore-experience-platform.html

On of the apps on the Launchepad is The Sitecore Content Editor. doc.sitecore.com/.../the-content-editor.html
    In the Content editor you see all items where you have reading rights to, in a tree.

Items are the basic building blocks of your Sitecore website. An item can represent any kind of information that makes up a webpage, for example, a piece of text, a media file, a layout, and so on. doc.sitecore.com/.../creating-and-editing-items.html

So in the Content editor you can navigate to an item and edit it or publish or set rights, and so on, or if it is a page you can start the Experience editor, it will open the selected page doc.sitecore.com/.../the-experience-editor.html
    The Experience editor is the place where you can add components to a page, (this is also possible in the content editor but tucked away deep in the ribbon and a more technical view than visually)
  • As the name suggests, it is the tool used by Content Managers to add, update and delete content.